Choose color scheme

  • Bar Trobadores, a medieval tavern in Lisbon downtown

    In Lisbon downtown “Baixa” area, toward the Terreiro do Paco lies a different place with wood benches, light candles in chandeliers and various other decorative elements, perfectly recreating a medieval tavern.

    While listening to Celtic, folk or traditional Portuguese music drink beer in horns or earthenware mugs, try unusual potions, such as cider, hydromel or mead, while gained a plate of cheeses and sausages or snuggling a bowl of clad verde.

    Schedule:

    • Monday to Thursday, from 17:00 to 02:00.
    • Friday and Saturday from 17:00 to 04:00.
    • Closed on Sundays.

    Further notes:

    • Food: Food / Snacks
    • Music Type: Folk, Celtic
    • Live Music: Usually on Fridays and Saturdays
  • Ruines of Carmo’s convent

    Carmo’s Convent and Church are the maximum exponent of gothic architecture in the city of Lisbon. It’s construction started in 1389, along a ridge of sandy terrain, making its construction work time-consuming and expensive enterprise.

    For many years the Church was the biggest of Lisbon, formed by a complex structure of five chapels, but almost fully collapsed with the 1755 earthquake and the fire that followed. After the fire, the root collapsed and only two main façades of the Church remained. A few repairs were made following the neo-gothic style making it a reference to the romantics by its Mystic and abandoned look.

    Address: Largo do Carmo, Lisbon

  • Castelo de Sao Jorge and Torre de Ulisses

    Castelo de Sao Jorge:

    The Castelo de S. Jorge National Monument occupies a privileged area of the old medieval citadel and consists of the castle, ruins of the former royal palace and part of the neighborhood for the élite.

    The fortification, built by the Moors in the mid-11th century, was the last defensive stronghold for the élite who resided on the citadel, the Moorish governor whose palace was nearby, and the élite city administrators whose homes are visible today in the Archaeological Site.

    After Dom Afonso Henriques conquered Lisbon on October 25th, 1147 to become the first king of Portugal the Castelo de S. Jorge began its golden age as home for the royalty. The old Moorish period buildings were modified and enlarged to receive the king, his court, the bishop and the Royal Archives in one of the castle towers. Once the Portuguese kings had transformed the Castelo de S. Jorge into a royal palace in the 13th century, it was chosen to receive many notable Portuguese and foreign figures, as well as hold festivities as well as coronations during the 14th, 15th and 16th centuries.
    It was after the Lisbon earthquake of 1755 that the most substantial renovation work took place on the old medieval alcacova, with many new buildings gradually obstructing older ruins. In the 19th century, military installations covered the entire monument area.

    10 Important Monuments to visit in the Castle:

    • 7, 8th century B.C: Before the Castle
    • 11th century: Founding of the Castle
    • 12th century: The Christian Reconquest
    • 13th century: Royal Residence
    • 14th century: Royal Residence
    • 15, 16th century: Royal Residence
    • 17, 18th century : From Royal residence to Military barracks
    • 18th century : Earthquake of 1755
    • 19th century: The Castle and Military Goraison
    • 20th century: The Castle – A national Monument

    Schedule:

    • 9 am to 9 pm (March to October)
    • 9 am to 6 pm (November to February)
    • 30 minutes before closing time

    Price:

    • 7 euros

    Contact:

    • Rua de Sta Cruz, 1100-129 Lisboa
    • +351 218 800 620
    • info@casteLodesaojorge.pt
    • www.castetodesaojorge.pt

    Transports:

    • Bus 37
    • Tram 12, 28

    Parking:

    • Portas do Sol Praca da PogueIra

    Periscope – Ulisses Tower:

    Because it contained the royal treasure (income from taxes and royal rents) it was also called the Tower of Riches. Up until the earthquake of 1755, the Royal Archives, holding the Kingdoms most important documents were held in this tower. In the 18th century, it adopted its current name, the Torre de Ulisses.

    Schedule:

    • 10 am- 5 pm
    • 30 minutes before closing time
    • Subjected to weather conditions

     

    Credits:

    • EGEAC
    • Camera Municipal de Lisboa

     

  • Aguas Livres Aqueduct

    Considered one of the most remarkable works of the hydraulic engineering ever made and one of the rare and more complex water supply systems of the eighteenth century preserved until the present time.

    Started in 1732 works Were Concluded only about a hundred years later around 1834. The Aguas Livres Aqueduct was destined to the water supply of the new fountains Whose net grew wider, since it Were adduced water springs, located near to Sintra, to the reservoir of the Mae d’agua visitable near Amoreiras.

    From the source to the Mãe d’Água in Amoreiras, and counting many other secondary paths, the aqueduct stretches for about 59 km. Operating since 1748, it has been disabled in the 3rd quarter of the century. XX, and it was reopened to the public in 1986.

    From the aqueduct you will have a high ground view over Lisbon and cross the biggest stone arches in Europe.

    Opening hours:

    • Tuesdays to Saturday: 10h00 to 17h30
    • Closed on Mondays, Sundays and public Holidays
    • Closed from 30/11 to 01/03

    How to arrive:

    • Bus 2,12,13,18,42,51,58

    Address:

    • Calçada da Quintinha, no 6 1070 – 225 Lisboa

    Contacts:

    • Phone: 21 325 16 52
    • Underground Lisbon – Roman galleries

      Under Lisbon downtown, an amazing secret is kept hidden, the Underground Roman Galleries.

      The visits are performed in groups with the guidance of professionals from the Lisbon Museum and Archeology Center of Lisbon. No special shoes or clothes are required.

      Address: In front of nº77 of Rua da Conceição, corner with Rua da Prata (the entrance is done through the floor located in the road).
      Schedule: Open to public for short periods without a fixed schedule, our advice is to contact the Tourism Services for more details on visit times (in 2015 the visits were schedule from the 17/04 to 19/04, 10:00 to 18:00).
      Waiting times: Long queues and waiting times can be expected.
      Visit length: Around 20 minutes with long waiting times.
      Price: Free entrance.

      Official Video:

      Complete visit:

      History Channel (in Portuguese)

    • Portas do Sol Belvedere in Alfama

      Alfama is one of the most typical and picturesque Lisbon’s neighborhoods. Their small paths, small sets of stairs and always, always going up. In the end there’s a Jewell you will not want to miss, it deserves a visit both day and night, its the belvedere Gates of the Sun, “Portas do Sol”.

      Another way to visit Portas do Sol belvedere is by taking the Tram 28 and take part in one of the best ways to visit Lisbon.

      Enjoy the view:

    • Unique church – Igreja De São Domingos

      The Igreja de São Domingos is Baroque style church part of the Portuguese National monuments.

      Built in 1241,  was at one time, the largest church in Lisbon typically hosting Portuguese royal weddings. This church was almost completely destroyed in the 1755 earthquake, rebuilt until 1807 and again devastated by fire in 1959  destroying many of its important paintings and statues. In 1994 the church reopened maintaining many signs of the fire which making it truly unique.

      Name: Igreja De São Domingos
      Adress: Largo de São Domingos 1150-320 Lisboa

    • Restaurant Cervejaria “A Palmeira”

      “A Palmeira” may not be a fanciest restaurant but there is indeed something very special about it.

      Just outside the Subway station “Baixa Chiado”, you can enjoy a refreshing beer in a typical environment and enjoy the natural flow of working people and students by the of the day. Try a pint of stout beer “caneca de cerveja preta” while having some free lupins or “tremoços” and potatoes chips.

      Name: Restaurante Cervejaria “A Palmeira”
      Address: R. do Crucifixo 69, 1100 Lisboa
      Telephone: 213 428 372

    • Casa Museu Amalia Rodrigues

      The great diva of fado, Amália Rodrigues, is undoubtedly one of the most emblematic and beloved figures in Portuguese culture. The house where she lived more than half a century was transformed into a house-museum, almost immediately after her death in 1999, preserving many of her personal items.

      The now House-Museum Amália Rodrigues, is a beautiful Lisbon like house, situated in São Bento area. On the guided tour of about 30 minutes, the singer’s many admirers may know and enjoy the environment, spaces and objects that populated the artist’s life and that are living testimonies of her career and her personal experiences. Throughout all visit you will be presented with recordings of Fado music.

      The Amalia Museum is divided in several rooms, all showing original items:

      • Living room containing some fado related old pictures and recordings,
      • Dining room showing a traditional dinning table,
      • Bedroom, the most intimate and personal space, showing day to day personal items like perfumes, dresses, shawl, shoes and jewelery.

      Address:
      Rua de S. Bento, nº 193, 1250-219 Lisboa

      Phone Contact:
      213 971 896

      Website:
      Casa-Museu Amália Rodrigues
      TripAdvisor link

      Price:
      5,00€

      Schedule:
      10h00 – 13h00 e 14h00 – 18h00 (closed on Mondays)

      Getting there:
      Bus (Carris) : 6, 13, 49, 58, 100, 202
      Subway: Rato

    • Tourist Information Offices

      Tourist Information – General contact number
      Tel: +351 808 781 212

      Lisbon Airport-Arrivals
      Winter/Summer from 8.00 a.m to 12.00 p.m
      Tel: +351 21 845 06 60

      Rua Augusta – Lisbon downtown
      Winter/Summer from 10.00 a.m. to 18.00 p.m (Closed 13:00 p.m to 14:00 p.m)
      Tel: +351 21 325 91 31

      Mosteiro Jerónimos (Belém)
      Winter/Summer | 10.00-13.00 | 14.00-18.00 | 3 ª feira a sábado
      from 10.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m (Closed 1.00 p.m to 2.00 p.m)
      Tel: +351 21 365 84 35/6/7

      Lisboa Welcome Center
      Praça do Comércio Loja 1 r/c- Loja 2- 1º
      Winter/Summer from 9.00 a.m to 20.00 p.m
      http://www.atl-turismolisboa.pt/
      Tel: +351 21 031 28 10/15

      Praça dos Restauradores
      Winter/Summer from 09.00 a.m to 20.00 p.m
      Tel: +351 21 346 33 14

      Sta. Apolónia
      Winter/Summer from 8.00 a.m to 4.00 p.m. (Closed 1.00 p.m 2.00 p.m.)
      Tel: +351 21 882 16 04

      Palacion da Foz
      Praça dos Restauradores (“Restauradores” subway station)
      Winter/Summer from 9.00 a.m to 20.00 p.m
      Tel: +351 213 463 314

      Estoril
      Arcadas do Parque
      Winter/Summer from 10.00 a.m to 18.00 p.m
      10ª.m to 6pm.
      Tel: +351 214 687 630

      Sintra
      Winter/Summer from 9.30 a.m to 18:00 p.m; Sat, Sun and Holidays from 13:30 a.m to 18:00 p.m
      Praça da República, 23
      2710-616 Sintra
      Tel: +351 219 231 157

    • Lisbon Airport to City Center (Subway Network Map)

      Airport To City Center via Subway

      The Subway is by far the cheapest and comfortable way to reach you destination from Lisbon Airport, if you prefer a taxi don’t forget the check out the taxi travel costs calculator first.

      The new map of the Metro/Subway network:

      Lisbon Airport to City Center (Subway Network Map)

      Lisbon Airport to City Center (Subway Network Map)

      Or click here to download the PDF

      Click next to check the Subway/Metro Fares, schedules and other useful information. Or the special Subway/Metro trip planner to help you find your way.

      Click next to check other ways to go to the Lisbon City Center.

      Welcome to Lisbon!

    • Listen to Fado in “Coraçāo de Alfama”

      Another place where you can have dinner while listening to Genuine fado, the “Coraçāo de Alfama”.
      In the very heart of Alfama and near the belvedere “Miradorouro das Portas do Sol”, don’t miss it!