Terreiro do Paço is emblem of the capital for many reasons. Its was since Lisbon beginnings its main pier due to its sandy ground and broad and deep anchorage. From there Lisbon saw the return of many victorious ships and the remains of s. Vicente, the city Patron, at 14 September 1173. The Holy arrived on a boat “escorted” by two crows which are part of Lisbon coat of arms.
During the 1755 earthquake the beach and its pier almost disapeared and in 1758 Marques de Pombal ordered there the construction of what is called today the “Praça do Comércio”.