The Castelo de S. Jorge National Monument occupies a privileged area of the old medieval citadel and consists of the castle, ruins of the former royal palace and part of the neighborhood for the élite.
The fortification, built by the Moors in the mid-11th century, was the last defensive stronghold for the élite who resided on the citadel, the Moorish governor whose palace was nearby, and the élite city administrators whose homes are visible today in the Archaeological Site.
After Dom Afonso Henriques conquered Lisbon on October 25th, 1147 to become the first king of Portugal the Castelo de S. Jorge began its golden age as home for the royalty. The old Moorish period buildings were modified and enlarged to receive the king, his court, the bishop and the Royal Archives in one of the castle towers. Once the Portuguese kings had transformed the Castelo de S. Jorge into a royal palace in the 13th century, it was chosen to receive many notable Portuguese and foreign figures, as well as hold festivities as well as coronations during the 14th, 15th and 16th centuries.
It was after the Lisbon earthquake of 1755 that the most substantial renovation work took place on the old medieval alcacova, with many new buildings gradually obstructing older ruins. In the 19th century, military installations covered the entire monument area.
10 Important Monuments to visit in the Castle:
7, 8th century B.C: Before the Castle
11th century: Founding of the Castle
12th century: The Christian Reconquest
13th century: Royal Residence
14th century: Royal Residence
15, 16th century: Royal Residence
17, 18th century : From Royal residence to Military barracks
18th century : Earthquake of 1755
19th century: The Castle and Military Goraison
20th century: The Castle – A national Monument
9 am to 9 pm (March to October)
9 am to 6 pm (November to February)
30 minutes before closing time
Rua de Sta Cruz, 1100-129 Lisboa
+351 218 800 620
Tram 12, 28
Portas do Sol Praca da PogueIra
Periscope – Ulisses Tower:
Because it contained the royal treasure (income from taxes and royal rents) it was also called the Tower of Riches. Up until the earthquake of 1755, the Royal Archives, holding the Kingdoms most important documents were held in this tower. In the 18th century, it adopted its current name, the Torre de Ulisses.
Considered one of the most remarkable works of the hydraulic engineering ever made and one of the rare and more complex water supply systems of the eighteenth century preserved until the present time.
Started in 1732 works Were Concluded only about a hundred years later around 1834. The Aguas Livres Aqueduct was destined to the water supply of the new fountains Whose net grew wider, since it Were adduced water springs, located near to Sintra, to the reservoir of the Mae d’agua visitable near Amoreiras.
From the source to the Mãe d’Água in Amoreiras, and counting many other secondary paths, the aqueduct stretches for about 59 km. Operating since 1748, it has been disabled in the 3rd quarter of the century. XX, and it was reopened to the public in 1986.
From the aqueduct you will have a high ground view over Lisbon and cross the biggest stone arches in Europe.
On November 1, 1755 the combination of earthquake, tsunami and firestorm devastated Lisbon on All Saint’s Day, turning buildings into deathtraps and transforming the streets of the capital into a hellish landscape. Experience the disaster through the eyes of one of its survivors see how this event brought an empire capital to its knees.
An 8.5 magnitude earthquake with epicenter only 150 miles from the cost undid the city buildings, prompting tens of thousands of people to flee to the riverside, where a tsunami with waves of up to 15 meters killed them. To top this “perfect storm”, the candles that had been lit in Lisbon churches to mark the day fell with the motion of the earth and caused a huge fire in the city’s buildings.
One of the largest earthquakes in history. The phenomenon that reduced the capital to dust, which spread death, which devastated the local economy and rewrote the history of the citadel.
Presented in November 2014 by the American channel Smithsonian Channel, this simulation is part of a series of episodes entitled “Perfect Storm: The Wrath of God” and explains the devastation of the day November 1, 1755 and shows virtual images of what would be the Portuguese capital in the eighteenth century.
Credits to SmithsonianChannel.com
Want to enjoy Lisbon though a different angle while cycling around for a day or just a few hours?
Cycling around Lisbon is one of the best enjoyable ways to discover the city at your own pace. Today, Lisbon offers a network of urban bicycle lanes that allow visitors to appreciate Lisbon on two wheels.
First route, will take you by the Tagus riverside connecting “Belém” to “CaisdoSodré”. Along this route you will discover the “PadrãodosDescobrimentos”, “Jerónimos Monastery” and “Belém Tower”.
Second option, will take you to the Campo Grande gardens, alongtheEntrecampos bike path. We recommend a stop to visit the “MuseudaCidade” and “BordalloPinheiro” Museums.
Third option is touring from the “CaisdoSodré” train station to the seaside town of Cascais, just a few kilometers outside Lisboa, this one is granted to give very nice views.
Fourth option is a relaxing route through Lisbon “Parque das Nacoes”, where the Portuguese Expo was held in 1998. “Parque das Nacoes” visitors can enjoy the cable car ride offering amazing views over the park and Tagus river, contemporary architecture at the “Pavilhão Atlântico” and “Portuguese Pavilhão” and finally, but not least, a visit to the Oceanarium, a must for adults and children.
Check the following companies offering Bicycle renting services:
The connections between bike paths can be made by public transportation, which allow the free transport of bicycles.
Lisboa Subway, “Metro”, users can transport their bikes all day on weekends and on weekdays after 8pm.
Carris offers the Bike Bus service, which covers the following bus routes: 21 – Saldanha – Moscavide Centre, 25 – Oriente Station – Prior Velho, 31 – José Malhoa – Moscavide Centre, 708 – Martim Moniz – Parque das Nações; 723 – Desterro – Algés, 724 – Alcântara – Pontinha.
Under Lisbon downtown, an amazing secret is kept hidden, the Underground Roman Galleries.
The visits are performed in groups with the guidance of professionals from the Lisbon Museum and Archeology Center of Lisbon. No special shoes or clothes are required.
Note: The Galleries are literally underground, that is, visits outside the opening periods are not worth.
Price: Free entrance.
Opening hours: Open to public for short periods without a fixed schedule, our advice is to contact the Tourism Services for more details on visit times.
Note: in 2015 the visits are schedule from the 17/04 to 19/04, 10:00 to 18:00.
Waiting times: Long queues and waiting times can be expected.
Visit length: Around 20 minutes with long waiting times.
Location: the In front of nº77 of Rua da Conceição, corner with Rua da Prata.
Note: The entrance is done through the floor located in the middle of the road.
Alfama is one of the most typical and picturesque Lisbon’s neighborhoods. Their small paths, small sets of stairs and always, always going up. In the end there’s a Jewell you will not want to miss, it deserves a visit both day and night, its the belvedere Gates of the Sun, “Portas do Sol”.
“A Palmeira” may not be a fanciest restaurant but there is indeed something very special about it.
Just outside the Subway station “Baixa Chiado”, you can enjoy a refreshing beer in a typical environment and enjoy the natural flow of working people and students by the of the day. Try a pint of stout beer “caneca de cerveja preta” while having some free lupins or “tremoços” and potatoes chips.
The great diva of fado, Amália Rodrigues, is undoubtedly one of the most emblematic and beloved figures in Portuguese culture. The house where she lived more than half a century was transformed into a house-museum, almost immediately after her death in 1999, preserving many of her personal items.
The now House-Museum Amália Rodrigues, is a beautiful Lisbon like house, situated in São Bento area. On the guided tour of about 30 minutes, the singer’s many admirers may know and enjoy the environment, spaces and objects that populated the artist’s life and that are living testimonies of her career and her personal experiences. Throughout all visit you will be presented with recordings of Fado music.
The Amalia Museum is divided in several rooms, all showing original items:
Living room containing some fado related old pictures and recordings,
Dining room showing a traditional dinning table,
Bedroom, the most intimate and personal space, showing day to day personal items like perfumes, dresses, shawl, shoes and jewelery.